I got a phone call from the "World Championship of Performing Arts" which she said was the world Olympics for performers. She was offended when I began laughing and she said I should look at the web site and then call her back if I wanted to audition.
The other strange thing was that she began the call saying "TPS recommended you to audition for us". Now, I know TPS doesn't "recommend" people to places that cold call you for auditions. Karen or Shane would call me first and talk to me if they ever even thought about doing that and then they'd ask me to call them to set up an appointment. So the scam meter went off in my head right away and that is why I was laughing.
The web site is:
http://www.wcopa.com/The people discussing if this is a scam is at:
http://www.scam.com/showthread.php?t=116353I never got to the part where they asked for money, but know that anyone asking for lots of money for their specific "training" and "headshots" etc... are taking you for a ride. As someone put it well on the scam site, they may be a "legitimate" business, but it doesn't mean they are at all ethical. Stay far away.