TPSOnline.org Message Boards
May 21, 2013, 12:08:36 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Member? Are your events listed on http://SeattlePerforms.com?
If not, please list them now
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Scam email from "MAG Entertainment"  (Read 1765 times)
Kristin Alexander
Supporting Lead
***

Karma: 38
Offline Offline

Posts: 61


Kristin Alexander


View Profile WWW
« on: November 09, 2011, 01:02:02 PM »

Heads up. Received this presumably scam email today on my professional email address.  No, I didn't reply. The website doesn't exist.

Sad

Kristin,
You have been selected to Audition @ TPS Saturday November 19th @ 10 am. Seattle.
for Performing Arts Olympics.  Please email me for details and for your appointment time to Audition.
Thanks,
Teri
Teri Gallus, President/CEO
MAG Entertainment
(208) 659-3608
(208) 772-6129 Fax
www.magentertain.com
magentertain@gmail.com
Logged

NULL
Alysha Curry
Understudy
**

Karma: 12
Offline Offline

Posts: 29



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2011, 04:35:44 PM »

Apparently some calls are going from Tracy George as well, similar scam. Be careful! I know about a dozen people who got those calls...
Logged

Alysha Curry
Sarah Stillion
Apprentice
*

Karma: 27
Offline Offline

Posts: 20


View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2011, 12:46:24 AM »

I got a phone call from the "World Championship of Performing Arts" which she said was the world Olympics for performers. She was offended when I began laughing and she said I should look at the web site and then call her back if I wanted to audition.

The other strange thing was that she began the call saying "TPS recommended you to audition for us". Now, I know TPS doesn't "recommend" people to places that cold call you for auditions. Karen or Shane would call me first and talk to me if they ever even thought about doing that and then they'd ask me to call them to set up an appointment. So the scam meter went off in my head right away and that is why I was laughing.

The web site is: http://www.wcopa.com/

The people discussing if this is a scam is at: http://www.scam.com/showthread.php?t=116353

I never got to the part where they asked for money, but know that anyone asking for lots of money for their specific "training" and "headshots" etc... are taking you for a ride. As someone put it well on the scam site, they may be a "legitimate" business, but it doesn't mean they are at all ethical. Stay far away.
Logged

NULL
Theatre Puget Sound
Administrator
Diva
*****

Karma: 184
Offline Offline

Posts: 588


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2011, 02:12:46 PM »

Please note that if your profile is public, people like this will have access to your contact information and we can't do much about that.  We certainly do not condone these activities and ask that all members do their research when something looks too good to be true.  Thank you all for posting it on the messageboard and getting the word out.  -Shane
Logged

NULL
Theatre Puget Sound
Administrator
Diva
*****

Karma: 184
Offline Offline

Posts: 588


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: November 14, 2011, 02:48:37 PM »

UPDATE: It has come to our attention that MAG Entertainment is sending emails calling it "The World Championship of Performing Arts by TPS."  Please note TPS has no involvement in this program or company.  All TPS Programs are sent through normal channels and through tpsonline.org email addresses.  Besides, the idea of us hosting a "World Championship of Performing Arts" is unfathomable as it conflicts with our long-running program "World Kickboxing Tournament of Performing Arts by TPS."
-Shane Regan
Logged

NULL
Louise Penberthy
Diva
******

Karma: 212
Offline Offline

Posts: 332


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: November 14, 2011, 03:03:44 PM »

There's a "World Kickboxing Tournament of Performing Arts by TPS"Huh

Why haven't I ever been invited to audition?  <sob sob>
Logged

NULL
R. Emmett Michie
Apprentice
*

Karma: 1
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: November 14, 2011, 09:52:13 PM »

I got a phone call from Tracey George, who was at least calling from California. But when I asked how she got my name, she said I was well-known in Seattle as a "theater scholar." Oh yeah, all by itself that made me pretty sure this was bogus. Anyone not sure should check the Scam.com link listed above (http://www.scam.com/showthread.php?t=116353).
Logged

NULL
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.15 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal